ADD Diet Challenge Day 16

20 Apr

Alright, about that grass fed beef.  My coworker has informed what that’s all about.  Cows are fed corn and grain which give them stomach ulcers, as a result, they’re given antibiotics.  Hence, grass fed tastes the same, but is antibiotic free.  Now, there’s probably more to it than just that, but I don’t want to get into a long winded explanation.  Nor do I want to google it.  I’m googled out at the moment.  Best just to say grass-fed beef is healthier for you.  She gave me this great link to Big River Beef, they sell grass-fed beef in 25 and 50 pound packs. If you break it down, you’re paying 5.00 per pound for ground beef. They also sell a mixed pack of burgers/ribs/steaks/stew meat etc, which breaks down to 7.00 per pound. Not much more than you pay in a store for non grass-fed beef. We are definitely considering it. Our in-laws are thinking about going halfsies with us on a 25 pound pack of one or the other. Something to think about.

Easter this week!  We are spending the day with Chris’ side of the family.  I went on to The Stone Soup and found this potentially awesome recipe for roast cherry tomatoes and rustic homemade sourdough. Hopefully, they’ll taste as good as they look. Cross your fingers. I wanted to make a dessert, too, but this is my six day work week. The Easter Bunny still has rice crispy treats to make. My feeling right now is that if I take on one more dish, I’ll end up frustrated and cranky for the holiday. Really don’t want that. I am super excited to give Grace her gardening supplies. I truly might cry if she doesn’t like it. Yes, I’m sensitive. Freely owning that. What are your Easter plans? If you don’t celebrate Easter, what are your weekend cooking plans?

3 Responses to “ADD Diet Challenge Day 16”

  1. Recipe Chefs April 20, 2011 at 8:54 am #

    Excellent post thanks for sharing. I love sharing delicious recipes. Food is something we all can enjoy. Take care.

    Delicious Cod Recipe

  2. motherherbs April 21, 2011 at 1:39 am #

    Grass fed beef also has a natural ratio of Omega 3, 6 & 9s. If cows eat for only 2 weeks of a grain and corn diet, they loss this ratio and just have omega 6s, which we get in abundance from our other foods and oils.

    So I’m interested in your ADD diet. I’d love to see it work for many people. I’m still reading your other posts.

    • bettyknits April 21, 2011 at 1:45 am #

      Oh, thank you for that information! Now I definitely need to invest in grass fed! Thank you so much for reading. We’re already seeing some positive changes.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

