ADD Diet Challenge Day 15

19 Apr

Chicken and rice medley.  Grace wasn’t too sure about the barley at first, but she ate it without complaint.  She had a spelling test on Friday.  All 12 correct plus all four bonus words!  Yeah for G!  That girl makes me so proud.  And she makes me laugh.  “Do you know that people buy things, and they work, they like what they bought, and they buy food, and it’s good and they like it, and then they just throw it away, mama, they just throw it away!”

We have a budding environmentalist on our hands.  I came across this really cool site, TerraCycle. What they do is recycle. You send them your recyclables, and they turn it into new products. It’s really cool.   And a portion of the proceeds go to charity.  Computer parts become picture frames, plastics become flower pots.  I think it’s amazing what people come up with.

Recently, I lost over 30 pounds.  I have all these clothes that no longer fit.  Most of them will be donated, others will be upcycled.  I have some flannel shirts that I just love.  My plan is to resew them into properly fitted short sleeved shirts.  Maybe even make something for Grace.  Digging through the underbrush of our property has yielded even more opportunities.  Chris found this nasty old milk crate.  I’m going to clean it up and use it for my gardening tools.  He also found these weird little glass bottles.  Now, I saw those and a light bulb went off.  They were the perfect size to hold a flower or a small bunch of flowers.  I came across directions on how to use photo emulsions to decorate glass.  Oh!  I was excited to finally test that out.  Until Chris threw them away.  Hopefully, there’s a few more buried out there.  I know we haven’t found all the gross buried treasure yet.  But some of them are diamonds in the rough.  Happy hunting to me!  And Chris better not throw anything else away without clearing it with me first.  Some of that stuff is still usable!

2 Responses to “ADD Diet Challenge Day 15”

  1. up2knowgood April 19, 2011 at 11:45 am #

    I love the buried treasure bits. Ann and I dug around the ruins of an old cabin and found all of the shards of an old china plate. We also managed to get the worst case of poison ivy either of us ever had before or since. That was about 28 years ago…and we still have that plate.

  2. ann8healthy April 19, 2011 at 1:24 pm #

    Thanks for sharing the TerraCycle link! It kills me to throw away things like chapstick and mascara tubes. I will be signing up.

    Also congrats on the weight loss!

Leave a Reply

