ADD Diet Challenge Day Pick A Number

18 May

She sassed me.  One dang cheese burger and that child sassed me!  Ever since that burger, Grace has been nothing but difficult.  She won’t do her homework, she’s got an attitude, it’s been a rough three days.  Tonight, she wouldn’t even sit still to eat dinner.  Finally, I had had enough.  “Sit down, eat your dinner.  I won’t tell you again.”  Well she sat.  She picked up her fork.  Then she looked at me and sneered.  Sneered.   “What if you do?”  After a deep mental breathe, I marched her out of the dinning room and into a shower.  That child!  And no, she didn’t care.  She was smirking the entire time.

Final decision?  No more fast food.  Ever.  Again.  It’s amazing, isn’t it?  We went over a month eating only all natural/organic food, and she was like a different child.  But one processed meal, and she becomes a little monster.  Unreal!  We definitely realized that this is the right diet for her.  That Burger was an eye opener.  A revelation of how greatly food can affect a child.  Because you honestly think it’s just food.  Just food, what’s the big deal?  In our case, with our child, it is a big deal.

I can promise you we will never make that mistake again.  From here on out, it’s all natural, all the time.

5 Responses to “ADD Diet Challenge Day Pick A Number”

  1. Christopher May 18, 2011 at 8:21 am #

    Personally, I don’t believe in dieting away someone’s ADD. I personally, have ADHD and did not take medication for 35 years. Then I met my wife, whom is a M.D. She talked me into trying out meds and I have never looked back. Since that time I have graduated college, attained a teaching credential, and have the patience I have always dreamed of having.

    People without ADD/ADHD have no clue what it’s like. The best analogy I can give you is:

    Imagine a child who needs glasses to read the black board (while in school); how inappropriate would it be for the rest of us with 20/20 vision to expect he or she not to wear their glasses. Even more outrageous is expecting that student to somehow learn and do as well as the 20/20 vision students. I suppose they could whisper and interrupt their fellow students. But how sad for that student,if only they had glasses…

    The ADDer is very much like that student, unable to focus; unable to effectively, and efficently process information the way others do. They, like me, learn how to get around it though; what choice do they/we have. I can’t help but wonder how my life might have turned out if I only had the available tools.

    Further, every time you harp on your kid about her special diet, you remind him or her that they are ADD. Then before you know it, they identify them selves as ADD. If you want to keep your kids on a healthy organic diet, do it! Just quit being so selfish, and demeaning with all the ADD crap. FYI a child’s self esteem is fragile and you need to work extra hard in making that kid feel good about his or her self. Let them know that “everyone has an imperfection”! I am sure even you could be diagnosed with something if probed enough…

    The bottom line is what tools are going to work for your kid: meds, behavior management, holistic diet, TLC,etc.

    If this doesn’t apply to you, I do apologize.

    • bettyknits May 18, 2011 at 11:36 pm #

      We are not “dieting away” ADD. We are trying alternative methods to keep our child off of medications. And it’s working. Also, she has never been diagnosed. I have ADHD. So I know what it feels like. We noticed her inability to remain focused, her impulsiveness, and a few other things. When it started to affect her school work, we took action. We researched. What we found is that artificial dyes, preservatives, and processed foods can have a profound affect on children. Especially children with ADD/ADHD. It can also help with heat sensitivities and speech problems. Both of which our child has. So we did away with those things. That’s why I call this a “challenge”. We are too quick to diagnose and medicate children. If simply changing the food you eat can help them, why shouldn’t we? This has changed my daughter’s life. If you had taken the time to read the rest of my posts, you would know all this. She is so much happier now. We have never told her she has ADD, she’s never been diagnosed, why would we? I was on meds for years and I hated them. Again, if I can help my daughter without medications, I will.

  2. up2knowgood May 18, 2011 at 12:03 pm #

    Wow! I know Ann was really tuned into what our kids ate at that age. Tommy had a reaction to anything with red dye in it(his face would flush bright red, so it was fun to watch him squirm when his mom would challenge him about eating candy.

    Now imagine how many kids across America are having the same reaction, but they and their parents are unaware. I think you guys are doing a great thing here.

    Well done!

  3. ann8healthy May 18, 2011 at 1:05 pm #

    I can relate. After I’ve eaten wheat, it’s almost like I can feel it wreaking havoc on my body and I feel kinda hungover for days afterward. I should know better, but I still fail myself at time. The best we can do is be better the next time.

    As for fast food, have you ever read the ingredients? For example: chicken nuggets have 30-some ingredients and about a dozen are derived from corn [which you can assume ISN’T organic].

    Grace is lucky to have you for a mom. Some wouldn’t even notice… or care. ❤

  4. Christopher May 18, 2011 at 4:52 pm #

    I will say that I too support a low sugar, no/minimal preservatives diet. Matter of fact I have even gone to the next step which is shopping only at stores like: Trader Joes and Whole Foods.

    I agree with the other post that talked about how bad chicken nuggets are.

    If you want to get it straight, I recommend watching Jamie Oliver’s Food Revolution and also an episode of “Bullshit” on show time.

    Both are very informative.

Leave a Reply

