Fresh Baked

12 Aug

Little G and I made some brownies today.  Oh, they are good.  They would be better slathered in chocolate frosting, but that’s an addition for another day.  We ate them with vanilla ice cream and chocolate syrup.  The website I got the recipe from is called They Draw And Cook. All the recipes are illustrated. They are beyond cute and hilarious. I was referred to the site by Just A Smidgen, you need to check out her blog. She has a recipe for lemon cake and beergaritas on there that I am dying to try out.  Also, next week we’ll be baking some chocolate zucchini bread and trust me, you want that recipe.  It’s the only food G and I have ever fought over.  We finally decided to be mature and share the last piece, but it got a little ugly for a while there.

I finally finished season 1 of Glee.  I still don’t really get the appeal.  It was interesting enough to keep me watching, but the only characters I truly felt invested in were Kurt and his dad.  There’s one quote in the show that’s really stuck with me.  Kurt’s dad said this to him, “I will fight to the death for your right to love.”  How beautiful is that?  Doesn’t that just resonate inside?  Their relationship is the only thing that really drew me in.  Are any of you fans?  What keeps you watching?  The incredible Kristin Chenoweth was on the show and the first song she performed they had Lea Michele sing with her.  Well, not with her, they were cutting back and forth between the two, which in my opinion was a huge mistake.  It made it glaringly obvious who was the good singer and who was the talented singer.  Kristin is the talented one, if you’re wondering.

And that’s it.  That’s all I’ve been doing.  Baking, watching Glee, and knitting.  I am nothing if not boring.  And I’m alright with that.  This has been such a wonderfully relaxing week.  Starting tomorrow, Chris will be off the rest of the weekend.  We’re hoping for nice weather tomorrow night.  The plan is to sit in front of big bonfire and watch the stars.  There’s this app called Star Walk.  You just point it at the sky and it tells you what constellations, planets, and satellites you’re looking at.  It actually has a lot of really neat information on it.  Maybe we’ll pop some popcorn, too.  All I know is that I have a really nice night with my family planned.

Leave a Reply

