Serve Immediately

15 Aug

Baked an apple pie yesterday. It was superb. I used this recipe for the crust. Again, it was superb!  Don’t believe me?

Even Grace needed a picture!  After the pie was out of the oven, it was off to the Game Fair.  Nothing too interesting happened there.  Grace shot a clay pigeon with a sling shot, that was pretty cool.  The pups were on their best behavior.  Although we did learn they are water snobs.  They refused to drink out of water bowls unless they were filled with fresh water.  Prissy, prissy!  They crashed as soon as we walked in the door.  Which we appreciated, we were able to eat our pie in peace.  Yeah, none of us wanted to wait until after dinner for a slice, where’s the fun in that?  Chris and G went out and shot her BB gun.  Since I’m intelligent, I stayed inside, away from the seven year old with a gun.  Papa didn’t raise no fool!

Tonight, I made Chicken Florentine Pesto Pasta.  It was phenomenal!  The only thing I changed, was I added garlic salt.  There’s no such thing as too much garlic salt.  All three of us cleaned our plates.  The plan was to have a slice of pie after, but…..our tummies are a little full.  It’s doubtful I’ll eat anything else tonight.  But I might do a little more baking tonight.  At Trader Joe’s today, I picked up some brownie mix and mini peanut butter cups.  It’s back to work for me tomorrow and I have a feeling I’m going to need all the chocolate I can get my grubby hands on.  Have you had Trader Joe’s mini pb cups?  They’re little pieces of heaven.  I’m starting to drool just thinking about them!

Now I’m going to sit back and relax.  Probably alternate between rubbing my belly and knitting.  I’m making G a Tiny Tea Leaves Cardigan.  I could link the pattern, but I’m much too lazy.  I’m using Cascade 220 heathers in a gorgeous dark purple.  G-funk is really excited, she loves it when I knit things for her.  I’ve been rolling around the idea of making some reusable sandwich and snack bags.  There are a lot out there, but they’re a little pricey for my taste.  Chris is always complaining about buying ziplock bags, we have lunch containers for G, but they don’t make lunch bags big enough to hold it all if you use them.  Maybe that’s our fault.  We like her to have a drink, sandwich, fruit, veggie and a snack.  That’s a whole lotta ziplock bags/containers.  Maybe reusable bags are the choice for us?

3 Responses to “Serve Immediately”

  1. up2knowgood August 15, 2011 at 2:41 am #

    Great post!

    All that food sounds so yummy. Hey, I made a great culinary discovery this week. Anchovy paste. Yeah, sounds nasty but it is the secret ingredient in a lot of foods I was previously unaware of. I tried a little (a toothbrush dab) added to the pesto I use as the sauce for my Greek pizza. Holy Ape-Cow Batman! It really made an already great pizza pop! I think I might try making a Muffaletta sandwich later this week.

    • bettyknits August 15, 2011 at 3:04 am #

      That. Sounds. DISGUSTING!!!! Although, I will admit that I hatehatehate onions and have found that everything tastes better with onions. I use organic onion powder now. I shall try your paste, and if it’s as disgusting as it sounds, I will be holding you accountable.

      • up2knowgood August 15, 2011 at 12:06 pm #

        I take full responsibility… provided you use it sparingly. That’s what I thought as well…for six months before I got the courage to try it. This is what one article had to say about it: “A touch of anchovy paste can be used to add a savory, umami quality to dishes — one that’s not so much briny as it is piquant. Use it to boost stews, soups, and braises, or to perk up tomato sauce or a meat rub.”

        They say it keeps for months in the tube, so it’s available for those times when some recipe just needs a little kick.

Leave a Reply

