Sugar Helps

19 Sep

Friday I made my first attempt at gluten-free baking.  I made Breakfast Cookies.  They are absolutely delicious.  I added mini chocolate chips and dried cherries.  Next time I may add almond slices.  Also, I need to figure out how to dehydrate them to make them crunchier.  That’ll be the next time I make them, and I am definitely making them again.  My goal is to pack Grace a lunch with as much nutrition as possible.  Tomorrow she’s having a ham and cheese sandwich, breakfast cookie, almonds, a small salad, raspberries and a small jug of milk.  I like the idea of giving her a cookie that is actually good for her.

So far, Grace really likes the 2nd grade.  But things aren’t smooth sailing.  Grace has not one, but two bullies.  They’ve been calling her names, throwing things at her, taking and breaking her pencils, you get the idea.  The stress and frustration are really starting to show.  She is a lot more sensitive, quick to cry and get angry and she isn’t sleeping very well.  We told her that from now on she is to completely ignore the boys and let her teacher know right away.  What else can we do?  When she starts to cry or starts having a meltdown, we are trying to calmly talk her through it.  It helps.  We’ll just take this one day at a time.  I feel that as long as we allow her to vent to us and give her lots of support and love, we’ll get her through this.  One thing did happen today that really made her heart happy.  We went to Whole Foods and found cupcakes with sprinkles.  Naturally colored sprinkles.

These are honestly the best cupcakes I’ve ever eaten.  We’re having a movie night and these sweet little treats are the perfect companions.  The puppies are eagerly cleaning up the crumbs.  Here’s to a better week Sweet Pea.

5 Responses to “Sugar Helps”

  1. Jenny Waalen September 19, 2011 at 12:32 am #

    Oh that breaks my heart about the bullies! Alexis and her best friend Lexi are having problems with one in middle school and what makes it harder is this girl used to be both Alexis’ and Lexi’s friend in elementry last year, she is really picking on (Our)Alexis’ Friend Lexi really bad, making her cry and tripping her in class. I Hate bullies and I hope she can find a way to make it past it. Have a better week Grace! and smile because you are a wonderful girl and those kids are not worth your greatness!

    • bettyknits September 19, 2011 at 12:38 am #

      Thanks Jenny! I’ve never understood bullies. Why hurting someone else is fun. We are really working with Grace on Treat People How You Want To Be Treated. She took her anger out on another student this week, and I don’t care if it’s because she herself is hurting, that doesn’t give her the right to hurt someone else. Again, we are taking it one day at time, letting her know she can talk to us and trust that we will do our best to help her.

  2. ann8healthy September 19, 2011 at 2:18 pm #

    It’s too bad that Grace has to endure obnoxious kids in order to learn. I hope this week is better for her. She’s lucky to have parents that listen.

    As for the baked goods: MMMMMmmmm! I WILL be trying those cookies. And I love the baked goods department at Whole Foods. Last Thanksgivng, I bought a gluten-free pumpkin and a vegan one that everyone said was better than the regular one [which came from Sam’s]. Imagine that: healthy food tasting better. 😉

    • bettyknits September 19, 2011 at 11:27 pm #

      Their bakery was euphoric! I wanted one of everything, but I settled for cupcakes. Now we know where we are getting her birthday cake! Grace had a great day today, thank goodness!

  3. up2knowgood September 20, 2011 at 11:40 am #

    Another great post! It took me a couple days to get to it, but I got there.

    The bully issue reminded me of a this quote: “Try not to let the freedom of your youth convince you that making people feel bad is more fun than making them feel good.”
    ~ Dallas Clayton Poet, Children’s Book Author

    I wish you luck in dealing with that issue, and I think you are right on track in your approach.

    As to the baking stuffs. It all sounds delicious…and healthy. Keep it up!

Leave a Reply

