Hair Brained

6 Jan

ImageThere’s been a whole lotta knittn’ going on.  Unfortunately, I didn’t take pictures.  At least not with my camera.  Blankets, sweater, hat, cowl and dress!  Not really sure where this sudden creative drive is coming from, but I like it!!!  Currently, I’m knitting a hooded vest for Grace.  There are so many cables, I almost put my needle through my eye.  Thankfully, I’m done with those and am working on the very easy body.  The pattern is Paprika and I’m too lazy to link it.  While there is a lot of cables, it’s a very easy and beautiful pattern.  I’m using acrylic yarn, nothing fancy.  It’s for a seven year old.  I need it to be sturdy, machine washable, and I don’t want to cry when she ruins it.  And yes, she will ruin.  Again, Grace is seven!  It happens.

When I’m not knitting, I’m making hair bows.  Yup, I have a new crafty obsession.  My nights are filled with yarn and ribbon.  Overall, bows are quick and easy.  Glue guns can be cruel, malicious devils, but they get the job done.  I made quite a few as Christmas gifts, and there were some very happy little girls.  These babies are great for last minute gifts.  I totally forgot about G’s Christmas party at school, I made four in under two hours.  See?  They’re fantastic.

Other than that, life has been very quiet.  We’ve been spending most nights playing games like Spot It, Blokus and Headbands.  It’s so wonderful having Chris home at night.  G has been so much happier, both at home and at school.  She loves being a real family.

Well, that’s all from me kids!  I hope you’re all having an amazing start to the new year.  Any resolutions?  Mine is to eat more chocolate.

Image

2 Responses to “Hair Brained”

  1. Fortuitous Faye January 6, 2012 at 3:38 am #

    Oh I love that Bow, what a smart idea to use the horse, did you paint it? Stephans aunt gave me some hair ties with a little halloween piece on each one ( Ghost, pumpkin, witch). The hair tie is poorly made so I popped those pieces off and when halloween comes around I will use those for the center of the bows, Nice way to recycle!

    What a pretty green! Is that one for Grace? That will look gorgeous next to her skin tone. Aww, I miss that cutie pie! And you too 🙂 Everytime I hear about you I always end with a smile on my face. So happy you are doing well.

    • bettyknits January 6, 2012 at 3:54 am #

      I got the horse from The Ribbon Retreat! Reusing those is a GREAT idea!

Leave a Reply

